England: McNamara names unchanged side for Kiwi clash

England coach Steve McNamara has named his 17-man squad for Saturday’s crucial Four Nations match with New Zealand – and it is exactly the same side that narrowly lost to Australia on Sunday.

Indeed, Wigan duo Dan Sarginson and Sean O’Loughlin – both absent from the tournament opener against Samoa – are set to start, as are hooker Josh Hodgson and back-rower Joel Tomkins, who have been criticised for their performances so far.

Elliott Whitehead, Mike Cooper, Stefan Ratchford, Joe Burgess and Zak Hardaker are the only squad members yet to make an appearance.

England team to face New Zealand
1 Sam Tomkins (New Zealand Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
2 Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
3 Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos, Latchford Albion)
4 Dan Sarginson (Wigan Warriors, Hemel Stags)
5 Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders)
6 Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons, King Cross)
7 Matty Smith (Wigan Warriors, Blackbrook)
8 George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)
9 Josh Hodgson (Hull KR, East Hull)
10 James Graham (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, Blackbrook)
11 Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
12 Joel Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
13 Sean O’Loughlin (captain) (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
14 Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers, Fryston Warriors)
15 Brett Ferres (Huddersfield Giants, Smawthorne Panthers)
16 Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)
17 Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Spring Lions)