England Wheelchair RL announce squad for Four Nations

Defending Wheelchair Rugby League Four Nations Champions England Have Announced Their Squad For The Upcoming Tournament In Rochdale This Month.

Four debutants are amongst the squad, including Leeds Rhinos star Ryan Richardson. He replaces Halifax’s Harry Brown, who is currently in Rio as part of Team GB’s Basketball squad at the 2016 Paralympic Games.

England Wheelchair RL Head Coach Mark Roughsedge said: “We’ve managed to push four new players into the squad and we’re looking forward to their debuts.

“Ryan in particular has massively improved after training with the England squad. He has transformed his game since the start of the season and this call up is a great reward for his hard work.”

The 2016 Four Nations is the first major Wheelchair RL tournament to be held in the North of England.

“We are hoping for a good turnout,” added Roughsedge. “We have a good number of teams in the North, and we want them to embrace the game and support us in Rochdale.”

The competition gives the players a chance to shine ahead of next year’s Wheelchair Rugby League World Cup in Australia.

“There are places available on the plane to Australia,” Roughsedge continued.

“No one has secured a place yet. We are telling the players to keep working hard, pushing their standards up and raising the bar.

“My message is – a good performance in Rochdale will secure you a place at the World Cup in Australia next year.”

Four members of the winning European Championship side from last year have been given a rest in this tournament.

Halifax’s Paralympian Harry Brown, Jack Brown and Wayne Boardman, as well as Medway Dragons’ Joe Coyd, will all take a break from the tournament, which takes place on 24-25 September in Rochdale.

Squad: Ryan Richardson (Leeds Rhinos – debut), Tom Halliwell (Leeds Rhinos), Nathan Collins (Leeds Rhinos – debut), James Simpson (Leeds Rhinos), Jodie Boyd-Ward (Leeds Rhinos), Nathan Mulhall (Halifax – debut), Kieron Johnson (Bradford Bulls – debut), Martin Lane (Medway Dragons), Adam Barnett (Medway Dragons), Sebastien Bechara (Catalans Dragons).