European WC qualifying details revealed

The draw for the European Qualification Tournament for RLWC2017 will take place in Paris tomorrow (Wednesday November 4th) at 6.00PM (CET).

The draw, which is seeded, will create two pools of three nations. The seeds, which will be kept in separate pools,  are:

No1 – Ireland & Wales
No 2 – Serbia & Russia
No 3 – Italy & Spain

The number 1 seeds will be drawn, followed by the number 2 and finally, number 3 ranked sides.

Once the two pools are created the positions within each pool will be drawn and allocated – Team A, Team B and Team C – and this will give the order of play for the fixtures.

The games will be played as follows:

October 15/16 2016 A v B
October 22/23 2016 B v C
October 29/30 2016 C v A

Once the pool games have been completed, a fixture on November 4th next year between 2nd in Pool A v 2nd in Pool B will take place at Leigh Sports Village, England. That will determine the third team to qualify after the two pool winners.

Three nations will qualify for the 2017 World Cup from this qualification process.