Gale & Campese battle for lead in Albert Goldthorpe Medal table

Castleford’s Luke Gale and Hull KR captain Terry Campese have pulled away from the opposition in the battle for this season’s Albert Goldthorpe Medal.

And on Saturday the two will meet head on, when the Tigers host the Robins at the Mend-a-Hose Jungle (ko 5.15pm) in a blockbuster that is crucial for both players’ clubs.

Super League XX Widnes v Hull KRAfter the Easter rounds of fixtures both Gale and Campese have 15 points, four ahead of their nearest rival, St Helens forward Alex Walmsley, while three-time winner Danny Brough is three points further back with eight points.

Gale received three points for his outstanding contribution to Castleford’s 14-22 victory against Warrington Wolves on Easter Monday, while Campese received three points for his performance in the Hull derby last Thursday, which the Robins won 6-20, and two points for his performance on Easter Monday when the Robins beat Huddersfield Giants 20-16.

In the Albert Goldthorpe Medal Club Table, in which all the players’ individual points are aggregated club by club, Leeds Rhinos currently lead the way with 40 points, five points ahead of their nearest challengers St Helen, with Hull Kingston Rovers a point behind them

Albert Goldthorpe Medal Club Table after 9 rounds

Leeds Rhinos 40

St Helens 35

Hull KR 34

Catalans Dragons 29

Castleford Tigers 29

Salford Red Devils 28

Huddersfield Giants 27

Wigan Warriors 24

Hull FC 24

Widnes Vikings 23

Warrington Wolves 20

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 11

Albert Goldthorpe Medal Table after 9 rounds

Terry Campese Hull Kingston Rovers 15

Luke Gale Castleford Tigers 15

Alex Walmsley St Helens 11

Scott Dureau Catalans Dragons 10

Ian Henderson Catalans Dragons 10

Danny Brough Huddersfield Giants 8

Adam Cuthbertson Leeds Rhinos 8

Stefan Ratchford Warrington Wolves 7

Rangi Chase Salford Red Devils 6

Jamie Ellis Huddersfield Giants 6

Albert Kelly Hull Kingston Rovers 6

Cory Paterson Salford Red Devils 6

Zeb Taia Catalans Dragons 6

Atelea Vea St Helens 6

Carl Ablett Leeds Rhinos 5

John Bateman Wigan Warriors 5

Kevin Brown Widnes Vikings 5

Kieran Dixon Hull Kingston Rovers 5

Matty Smith Wigan Warriors 5

Marc Sneyd Hull FC 5

Ben Westwood Warrington Wolves 5

Aaron Heremaia Widnes Vikings 4

Joe Mellor Widnes Vikings 4

Aaron Murphy Huddersfield Giants 4

Matthew Russell Warrington Wolves 4

Stevie Ward Leeds Rhinos 4

Lloyd White Widnes Vikings 4

Jon Wilkin St Helens 4

Paul Aiton Leeds Rhinos 3

Kyle Amor St Helens 3

Tom Briscoe Leeds Rhinos 3

Rob Burrow Leeds Rhinos 3

Michael Dobson Salford Red Devils 3

Liam Farrell Wigan Warriors 3

Liam Finn Castleford Tigers 3

Joe Greenwood St Helens 3

Scott Grix Huddersfield Giants 3

Harrison Hansen Salford Red Devils 3

Ben Jones-Bishop Salford Red Devils 3

Jermaine McGillvary Huddersfield Giants 3

Leon Pryce Hull FC 3

Jordan Rankin Hull FC 3

Kevin Sinfield Leeds Rhinos 3

Brad Singleton Leeds Rhinos 3

Ken Sio Hull Kingston Rovers 3

Tim Smith Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 3

Liam Sutcliffe Leeds Rhinos 3

Ryan Sutton Wigan Warriors 3

Joe Westerman Hull FC 3

Tony Clubb Wigan Warriors 2

Luke Dorn Castleford Tigers 2

Paddy Flynn Widnes Vikings 2

Craig Hall Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 2

Ryan Hampshire Wigan Warriors 2

Rhys Hanbury Widnes Vikings 2

Ash Handley Leeds Rhinos 2

Lance Hohaia St Helens 2

Liam Hood Salford Red Devils 2

Shaun Lunt Hull Kingston Rovers 2

Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook St Helens 2

Jacob Miller Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 2

Adam Milner Castleford Tigers 2

Mark Minichiello Hull FC 2

Junior Moors Castleford Tigers 2

Junior Moors Castleford Tigers 2

Curtis Naughton Hull FC 2

Mark Percival St Helens 2

Jamie Shaul Hull FC 2

Ashton Sims Warrington Wolves 2

Scott Taylor Salford Red Devils 2

Jordan Thompson Hull FC 2

Willie Tonga Catalans Dragons 2

Joe Wardle Huddersfield Giants 2

Kallum Watkins Leeds Rhinos 2

Justin Carney Castleford Tigers 1

Ben Cockayne Hull Kingston Rovers 1

Gil Dudson Widnes Vikings 1

Gareth Ellis Hull FC 1

Morgan Escaré Catalans Dragons 1

Anthony Gelling Wigan Warriors 1

Alex Gerrard Widnes Vikings 1

Josh Griffin Salford Red Devils 1

Chris Hill Warrington Wolves 1

Gareth Hock Salford Red Devils 1

Graeme Horne Hull Kingston Rovers 1

Danny Houghton Hull FC 1

Ali Lautiiti Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Tommy Lee Salford Red Devils 1

Andy Lynch Castleford Tigers 1

Tommy Makinson St Helens 1

Dominic Manfredi Wigan Warriors 1

Josh Mantellato Hull Kingston Rovers 1

Frankie Mariano Castleford Tigers 1

Danny McGuire Leeds Rhinos 1

Kevin Penny Warrington Wolves 1

Chris Riley Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Luke Robinson Huddersfield Giants 1

James Roby St Helens 1

Daniel Smith Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Taulima Tautai Wigan Warriors 1

Danny Washbrook Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

George Williams Wigan Warriors 1