Hanbury holds his lead in Albert Goldthorpe Medal table

Widnes Vikings star Rhys Hanbury is still leading this season’s Albert Goldthorpe Medal table after eight rounds of the Super League competition, following the points allocations for Easter Monday’s Round 8 matches.

Hanbury received one point for his performance for the Vikings against St Helens, and he is now on 15 points, two points ahead of his nearest challengers, Chris Sandow of Warrington Wolves and Luke Walsh of St Helens, who received two points and three points respectively for their performances on Easter Monday. Hanbury already has two points for his Round 11 game, which was played against Salford Red Devils in February.

Coming up strongly on the rails, however, is the Catalans Dragons star Todd Carney, who received three points for his performance against Castleford Tigers and who now lies in fourth place with eleven points.

Other players who scored three points on Easter Monday were Wigan’s Josh Charnley against Hull KR, Wakefield’s Tom Johnstone against Leeds Rhinos, Hull FC’s Marc Sneyd for his performance against Warrington Wolves, and Huddersfield’s Ukuma Ta’ai for his performance against Salford Red Devils.

The Easter Monday points allocations are set out below, and the full Albert Goldthorpe Medal table current standings are also shown below. So far this season 91 Super League players have scored Albert Goldthorpe Medal points.


Albert Goldthorpe Medal Points – Round 8

Todd Carney Catalans Dragons 3

Josh Charnley Wigan Warriors 3

Tom Johnstone Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 3

Marc Sneyd Hull FC 3

Ukuma Ta’ai Huddersfield Giants 3

Luke Walsh St Helens 3

Adam Cuthbertson Leeds Rhinos 2

Craig Kopczak Salford Red Devils 2

Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook St Helens 2

Greg Minikin Castleford Tigers 2

Chris Sandow Warrington Wolves 2

Iain Thornley Hull Kingston Rovers 2

Matty Ashurst Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Justin Carney Salford Red Devils 1

Morgan Escaré Catalans Dragons 1

Anthony Gelling Wigan Warriors 1

Rhys Hanbury Widnes Vikings 1

Curtis Naughton Hull FC 1



Albert Goldthorpe Medal Points Table 2016

Positions after eight rounds

Rhys Hanbury Widnes Vikings 15

Chris Sandow Warrington Wolves 13

Luke Walsh St Helens 13

Todd Carney Catalans Dragons 11

Kevin Brown Widnes Vikings 9

Denny Solomona Castleford Tigers 8

Maurice Blair Hull Kingston Rovers 7

David Taylor Catalans Dragons 7

Luke Gale Castleford Tigers 6

Robert Lui Salford Red Devils 6

John Bateman Wigan Warriors 5

Josh Charnley Wigan Warriors 5

Ben Currie Warrington Wolves 5

Kurt Gidley Warrington Wolves 5

Tom Johnstone Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 5

Craig Kopczak Salford Red Devils 5

Matthew Russell Warrington Wolves 5

Jamie Shaul Hull FC 5

Ukuma Ta’ai Huddersfield Giants 5

Atelea Vea St Helens 5

Ben Cockayne Hull Kingston Rovers 4

Jamie Ellis Huddersfield Giants 4

Anthony Gelling Wigan Warriors 4

Chris Hill Warrington Wolves 4

Tommy Lee Salford Red Devils 4

Mark Minichiello Hull FC 4

Marc Sneyd Hull FC 4

Glenn Stewart Catalans Dragons 4

Jake Webster Castleford Tigers 4

Lloyd White Widnes Vikings 4

Kyle Amor St Helens 3

Danny Brough Huddersfield Giants 3

Jodie Broughton Catalans Dragons 3

Adam Cuthbertson Leeds Rhinos 3

Gareth Ellis Hull FC 3

Liam Finn Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 3

Ash Handley Leeds Rhinos 3

Danny\ Houghton Hull FC 3

Max Jowitt Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 3

Tommy Makinson St Helens 3

Dominic Manfredi Wigan Warriors 3

Michael McIlorum Wigan Warriors 3

Joe Mellor Widnes Vikings 3

Gareth O’Brien Salford Red Devils 3

Sean O’Loughlin Wigan Warriors 3

Brad Singleton Leeds Rhinos 3

Carl Ablett Leeds Rhinos 2

Louis Anderson Catalans Dragons 2

Justin Carney Salford Red Devils 2

Tony Clubb Wigan Warriors 2

Luke Dorn Castleford Tigers 2

Brad Dwyer Warrington Wolves 2

Anthony England Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 2

Brett Ferres Leeds Rhinos 2

Oliver Gildart Wigan Warriors 2

Ryan Hinchcliffe Huddersfield Giants 2

Chris Houston Widnes Vikings 2

Sika Manu Hull FC 2

Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook St Helens 2

Greg Minikin Castleford Tigers 2

Ben Murdoch-Masila Salford Red Devils 2

Junior Sa’u Salford Red Devils 2

Dan Sarginson Wigan Warriors 2

Fetuli Talanoa Hull FC 2

Corey Thompson Widnes Vikings 2

Iain Thornley Hull Kingston Rovers 2

Dane Tilse Hull Kingston Rovers 2

Carlos Tuimavave Hull FC 2

Paul Aiton Catalans Dragons 1

Matty Ashurst Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Jake Connor Huddersfield Giants 1

Morgan Escaré Catalans Dragons 1

Mark Flanagan Salford Red Devils 1

Alex Gerrard Widnes Vikings 1

Ryan Hall Leeds Rhinos 1

Craig Hall Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Aaron Heremaia Widnes Vikings 1

Josh Jones Salford Red Devils 1

Tom Lineham Warrington Wolves 1

Paul McShane Castleford Tigers 1

Jacob Miller Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Richard Myler Catalans Dragons 1

Curtis Naughton Hull FC 1

Sam Powell Wigan Warriors 1

James Roby St Helens 1

Charly Runciman Widnes Vikings 1

Liam Sutcliffe Leeds Rhinos 1

Scott Taylor Hull FC 1

Lewis Tierney Wigan Warriors 1

Anthony Tupou Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Joe Wardle Huddersfield Giants 1