Hull KR reveal squad numbers for 2016

Hull Kingston Rovers have confirmed the club’s squad numbers for the 2016 campaign.

There has been a number of changes to the numbers, with Ken Sio taking number 1 whilst Josh Mantellato takes number 2. Other winger Kieran Dixon has switched to number 5.

New signing Iain Thornley has been handed the No.4 jersey, with Shaun Lunt taking the number 9 shirt.

Kieran Dixon shows off the new shirt
Kieran Dixon shows off the new shirt

Club captain Terry Campese has switched to the number 6 shirt.

In the pack, Maurice Blair has been given the number 11 shirt by head coach Chris Chester as he eyes a more permanent role in the back row, where he could be joined by Graeme Horne (12) and new signing Chris Clarkson (13).

Elsewhere, Hull-born prop James Green has been promoted to squad number 16, whilst new arrivals Thomas Minns, Ryan Shaw and Robbie Mulhern take numbers 21, 23 and 26 respectively.

Head coach Chris Chester said: “The main aims heading into next season were to maintain some consistency within the side and add a bit more quality to squad numbers 20 onwards, and I think we’ve done both.

“To retain the likes of Shaun Lunt, Terry Campese, Albert Kelly and Maurice Blair was a real statement of intent for the club and with Ken Sio at No.1, we have a really strong spine within the team next season that we can build around.

“The best sides all have quality players in the full back, half back and hooker positions, which we have, and this is backed up by some strong competition for places across the side with some talented young players pushing hard for selection.

“We also have a number of under-19s players ring-fenced in the new City of Hull Academy that we can call on if needed and I speak to their coach James Webster on a regular basis to monitor their progress.

“We’re very happy with the squad we have put together so far for 2016 and we still have a bit of room to manoeuvre. Ideally, we’d like to bring in another forward but we won’t rush into anything and we’ll only add to our squad if the player is right for the club.”

Sio KR
Ken Sio shall wear number one.

Hull KR’s 2016 squad numbers in full:
1. Ken Sio
2. Josh Mantellato
3. Liam Salter
4. Iain Thornley
5. Kieran Dixon
6. Terry Campese
7. Albert Kelly
8. Adam Walker
9. Shaun Lunt
10. Mitch Allgood
11. Maurice Blair
12. Graeme Horne
13. Chris Clarkson
14. Kevin Larroyer
15. James Donaldson
16. James Green
17. Dane Tilse
18. Ben Cockayne
19. John Boudebza
20. James Greenwood
21. Thomas Minns
22. Matty Marsh
23. Ryan Shaw
24. George Lawler
25. Stephen Holker
26. Robbie Mulhern
27. Will Oakes