New teams added for 2021 Wheelchair Rugby League campaign

The 2021 Wheelchair Rugby League campaign, which swings into action on the weekend of 29/30 May, will involve a six-team Super League, underpinned by three regional sections.

Several new teams are included at Championship level, including Wakefield Trinity, who will join Championship North.

Fledgling Welsh outfits Torfaen Tigers and West Wales Warriors are in Championship West, while Bedford Tigers and Woodland Warriors (who are based in Kent) have been added to Championship South, together with Argonauts Demi-Gods.

Wakefield’s chairs (and those to be used by Hull and Newcastle) have been acquired through the Rugby League World Cup’s CreatedBy funding scheme.

The 2021 structure is:

Super League: Champions Halifax Panthers together with Argonauts Skeleton Army, Hull FC, Leeds Rhinos, Leyland Warriors, North Wales Crusaders.

Championship North: Bradford Bulls, Dundee Dragons, Mersey Storm, Newcastle Thunder, Rochdale Hornets, Wakefield Trinity.

Championship South: Argonauts Skeleton Army Demi-Gods, Bedford Tigers, Gravesend, Gravesend Dynamite, Medway Dragons, Woodland Warriors.

Championship West: Celts, Hereford Harriers, North Wales Crusaders A, Torfaen Tigers, Warrington Wolves, West Wales Raiders.

The season will be preceded by a Fours competition on Saturday 22 May while, on Saturday 5 June, the Betfred Wheelchair Challenge Cup will get underway with an invitation Festival.

Meanwhile, the England squad convened in Sheffield last week ahead of an international on Saturday 26 June against Wales, which is part of the preparations for the autumn’s World Cup in this country.

The above content is also available in the regular weekly edition of League Express, on newsstands every Monday in the UK and as a digital download. Click here for more details.