New Zealand add eight more players to Four Nations train-on squad

Junior Kiwi James Fisher-Harris has earned a spot on the NZ Kiwis training squad for next month’s test against Australia in Perth and the subsequent Four Nations Tournament in England.

The Penrith Panthers forward was named in the national U20 side in May, but had to withdraw from their encounter with the Junior Kangaroos through injury.

Penrith were eliminated from the NRL playoffs by Canberra Raiders last weekend, ushering Fisher-Harris, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Suaia Matagi and Te Maire Martin into the national squad.

After two previous false starts, DWZ finally made his Kiwis debut in May, while Matagi was part of the triumphant 2014 Four Nations campaign, coming off the bench against Samoa.

Like Fisher-Harris, five-eighth Martin also stepped up to first grade this season, but missed Penrith’s run to the playoffs with a shoulder injury.

Joining them in the wider group are Brisbane Broncos Adam Blair, Alex Glenn and Jordan Kahu, who were ousted from the premiership race by North Queensland Cowboys in a rematch of last season’s grand finalists.

All three were named for the May test against Australia, but Glenn withdrew with a calf injury. Blair co-captained the Kiwis in England last year and Kahu’s ability to play a variety of positions has proven valuable since debuting on that same tour.

Vodafone Warriors prop Ben Matulino has withdrawn from contention for off-season surgery, while new coach David Kidwell has added Warriors hooker/second row Jazz Tevaga.

The latest inclusions brings the current squad to 31, with more to come after next weekend’s NRL semi-finals.

The final touring squad of 24 will be named during the week after the NRL Premiership Grand Final on October 2.

The Kiwis face Australia on October 15 and kick off their Four Nations title defence against hosts England on October 29.

The current NZ Kiwis train-on squad is:

Adam BlairBrisbane Broncos
Lewis BrownManly Warringah Sea Eagles
Greg EastwoodCanterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
James Fisher-HarrisPenrith Panthers
Addin Fonua-BlakeManly Warringah Sea Eagles
David Fusitu’aNZ Warriors
Alex GlennBrisbane Broncos
Shaun JohnsonNZ Warriors
Jordan KahuBrisbane Broncos
Solomone KataNZ Warriors
Shaun Kenny-DowallSydney Roosters
Thomas LeuluaiNZ Warriors
Sam LisoneNZ Warriors
Isaac LiuSydney Roosters
Tuimoala LoloheaNZ Warriors
Issac LukeNZ Warriors
Simon ManneringNZ Warriors
Te Maire MartinPenith Panthers
Suaia MatagiPenrith Panthers
Manu Ma’uParramatta Eels
Sam MoaSydney Roosters
Jason NightingaleSt George Illawarra Dragons
Tim SimonaWests Tigers
Brad TakairangiParramatta Eels
Martin TaupauManly Warringah Sea Eagles
Elijah TaylorWests Tigers
Jazz TevagaNZ Warriors
Bodene ThompsonNZ Warriors
Manu VatuveiNZ Warriors
Jared Waerea-HargreavesSydney Roosters
Dallin Watene-ZelezniakPenrith Panthers