Parkside on the cusp of history!

Hunslet Club Parkside are 80 minutes away from becoming the first side to complete a campaign in the top flight of the Kingstone Press National Conference League, which was launched in 1986-87 as the National League, with a 100 per cent winning record.

The south Leeds outfit – formerly Hunslet Old Boys – have prevailed in all 21 of their matches so far and, on Saturday, entertain Siddal in the final league match of the campaign.

Parkside sealed the League Leaders trophy several weeks ago and will, after hosting Siddal, embark on the play-offs in the bid to win the championship, will be settled at the Grand Final at the LD Nutrition Stadium, Post Office Road, Featherstone Rovers on the first weekend of October.

Hunslet have enjoyed a remarkable rise, having topped Divisions Three, Two and One in successive seasons since joining the NCL in 2014.

Siddal themselves – who must win comfortably on Saturday to have any chance of making the Top Six play-offs – were Minor Premiers last season, only to lose to Thatto Heath Crusaders in the Grand Final.

Hunslet Club Parkside, who are coached by Castleford Tigers hooker Paul McShane, former BARLA Great Britain boss Martin Rowse and long-tern mainstay Sam Thorpe, laid down a real marker for their assault on the top flight with a 42-6 victory at Siddal on the opening day of the 2018 campaign.


The weekend’s fixtures are:


Saturday 8 September 2018



Hunslet Club Parkside v Siddal

Kells v West Hull

Myton Warriors v Egremont Rangers

Rochdale Mayfield v Underbank Rangers

Thatto Heath Crusaders v Wigan St Patrick’s

Wath Brow Hornets v Normanton Knights



Featherstone Lions v Shaw Cross Sharks

Ince Rose Bridge v Pilkington Recs

Leigh Miners Rangers v Skirlaugh

Lock Lane v Milford Marlins

Oulton Raiders v Bradford Dudley Hill

York Acorn v Thornhill Trojans




Askam v Stanningley

Dewsbury Moor Maroons v Leigh East

Drighlington v Wigan St Jude’s

Hunslet Warriors v Hull Dockers

Saddleworth Rangers v Crosfields

West Bowling v East Leeds



Barrow Island v Dewsbury Celtic

Eastmoor Dragons v Millom

Gateshead Storm v Clock Face Miners

Woolston Rovers v Oldham St Anne’s