Queensland claim Origin series with win in Game Two

Queensland have won the 2016 State of Origin series with a game to spare after beating New South Wales 26-16 in Game Two of the three-match event.

The Maroons, who led 10-4 at the break following just one try in the first period, which went to Dane Gagai, who finished with a hat-trick, emerged winners in Brisbane to claim the series on home turf.

Gagai would score his second seven minutes after the break to extend Queensland’s lead, before Wales international Tyson Frizell reduced the gap shortly after.

However, Gagai’s hat-trick try on 63 minutes gave the Blues too much work to do, and although James Maloney raised hopes of a New South Wales comeback late on, Queensland struck again when Corey Oates crossed after 72 minutes.

It means the third game, which will be held in Sydney, is a dead rubber.