Smith becomes NRL all-time leading points scorer in Storm victory

Cameron Smith broke Hazem El Mazri’s all-time NRL points record as Melbourne maintained their unbeaten start to the season with an 18-12 victory over North Queensland.

Te Maire Martin opened the scoring after Gavin Cooper’s knock-down was knocked into the patch of the fullback. While the Cowboys dominated the first half against an out-of-sorts Storm side, they could only add a further two points from Jordan Kahu’s penalty.

Melbourne closed the gap with the final full set of the half when Will Chambers cut through the defence off Cameron Munster’s pass.

Cameron Smith’s conversion took him level with El Mazri’s record before a penalty took him in front.

The Storm were beginning to click and took the lead when Jahrome Hughes broke, kicked wide for Josh Addo-Carr who did well to ground the ball in the in-goal.

Then Addo-Carr’s second try looked to have secured the Storm’s win with ten minutes to go but Jordan Kahu’s brilliant, albeit questionable, flick pass gave Ben Hampton a try and the Cowboys hope.

But Cameron Smith’s second penalty of the game gave Melbourne a six-point lead which was enough in the end.

Cowboys: Martin, MacDonald, Kahu, Tuala, Hampton, Clifford, Morgan, Scott, Granville, McLean, Cooper, Asiata, McGuire; Interchanges: Hess, Jensen, Molo, Baptiste
Tries: Martin, Hampton; Goals: Kahu 2

Storm: Hughes, Earl, Chambers, Seve, Addo-Carr, Munster, Croft, J Bromwich, C Smith, Asofa-Solomona, Kaufusi, K Bromwich, Finucane; Interchanges: B Smith, Welch, Kamikamica, Papenhuyzen
Tries: Chambers, Addo-Carr 2; Goals: C Smith 3

Full match reports of all this weekend’s NRL games will feature in Monday’s League Express.