Summer Women get ready for the off


The Rugby Football League’s Women’s Summer League gets underway on Sunday (3 April) with six fixtures involving all 12 sides.


The competition will, after five weeks, be spilt into two groups, while Red Hall bosses have introduced County Cups and a Merit League. In addition, member teams will contest the Challenge Cup and Shield.


All sides are targeting end-of-season play-offs, while the County of Origin game will take place in October.


Bradford Bulls have entered a team and the RFL’s Club and Competition Manager James Shuttleworth said: “The Bulls are a welcome addition; this move reflects the growing interest in Women’s Rugby League by the professional part of the game.


“Bradford Bulls is a very strong brand in Rugby League and their involvement in the sport has piqued the interest of others.


“This season promises to be the most competitive to date and, with the 2017 Rugby League World Cup in Australia on the horizon, it looks set to be crucial for players with international ambitions.”


The league culminates with the annual Grand Finals Day at the Select Security Stadium, Widnes. In a change from tradition, the event will be staged on Saturday, 1 October. The County Origin game then closes out the season on Sunday, 18 October, at Stanningley, Leeds.



Sunday 3 April 2016

Oulton Raidettes v Bradford Bulls

Selby Warriors v Featherstone Rovers

Rochdale Hornets v Leigh Miners Rangers

Normanton v Lindley Swifts

Wigan St Patricks v Stanningley

Thatto Heath St Helens v Brighouse Rangers