Super League: Albert Goldthorpe team of the week

Every week in League Express newspaper, three stand-out players from all seven Super League matches are awarded points (ranging from one to three depending on their influence on that particular game) that decide who wins the prestigious Albert Goldthorpe medal – an annual accolade created by the newspaper to reward the fairest and best player of the season.

Here, we reveal the team of the week based on the Goldthorpe points. Do you agree with the names our reporters selected? Let us know by joining in on social media or our free forum.

Selection process explained
When more than one player is battling for the same spot in our team of the week, the number of Goldthorpe points is firstly taken into account. If there is still a tie, we will try to reposition one of the players somewhere else they have been known to feature in a game.

1 Matty Bowen (Wigan Warriors)
Points awarded: 3

2 Josh Griffin (Salford Red Devils)
Points awarded: 3

3 Michael Shenton (Castleford Tigers)
Points awarded: 1

4 Joel Monaghan (Warrington Wolves)
Points awarded: 3

5 Greg Johnson (Salford Red Devils)
Points awarded: 2

6 Luke Gale (Bradford Bulls)
Points awarded: 2

7 Liam Finn (Castleford Tigers)
Points awarded: 3

8 Scott Taylor (Wigan Warriors)
Points awarded: 2

9 Paul McShane (Wakefield Wildcats)
Points awarded: 3

10 Taulima Tautai (Wakefield Wildcats)
Points awarded: 2

11 Ben Currie (Warrington Wolves)
Points awarded: 2

12 Paul Wellens (St Helens)
Points awarded: 3

13 Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos)
Points awarded: 3

Current Albert Goldthorpe standings
Travis Burns (Hull Kingston Rovers) 24
Leon Pryce (Catalan Dragons) 22
Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers) 21
Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants) 19
Kevin Brown (Widnes Vikings) 18
Morgan Escaré (Catalan Dragons) 16
Luke Walsh (St Helens) 15
Marc Sneyd (Castleford Tigers) 15
Matty Smith (Wigan Warriors) 14
Paul Wellens (St Helens) 14
Rangi Chase (Salford Red Devils) 14

Wigan Warriors 82
St Helens 80
Warrington Wolves 80
Castleford Tigers 78
Leeds Rhinos 73
Catalan Dragons 68
Huddersfield Giants 60
Hull KR 58
Hull FC 56
Widnes Vikings 54
Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 52
Salford Red Devils 51
Bradford Bulls 32
London Broncos 16

Albert Goldthorpe Roll of Honour
2008 Danny Brough – Wakefield Trinity Wildcats
2009 Michael Dobson – Hull Kingston Rovers
2010 Pat Richards & Sam Tomkins – Wigan Warriors
2011 Rangi Chase – Castleford Tigers
2012 Scott Dureau – Catalan Dragons
2013 Danny Brough – Huddersfield Giants

What do you think about these selections? Discuss this, and many other Rugby League topics, on or free fans’ forum. Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.