The ultimate Lance Todd Trophy winners XIII

Fullback: Paul Wellens
One of only five players to win the cup’s most prestigious award on more than one occasion, the iconic St Helens fullback also has the distinction of being in the small club of players who won the award jointly on one occasion. He shared it with fellow Saint Leon Pryce during the 2007 victory against Catalans Dragons, winning it in his own right the following year in 2008.


Wing: Martin Offiah
It would be almost impossible to have a Challenge Cup final team without the inclusion of legendary winger Martin Offiah. A Lance Todd winner twice in three years; winning it first in 1992 when Wigan beat Castleford, before following that up in 1994 when Wigan won the cup yet again, this time against Leeds. Oh, and he scored THAT try..

Centre: Neil Fox
A winner of the Lance Todd trophy in 1962, Fox’s point-scoring record immediately ranks him amongst the game’s all-time greats: and it would be impossible to leave him off a team of this type. A Wembley winner with Trinity to boot, Fox remains a Rugby League legend.Neil-Fox

Centre: Joe Lydon
Lydon may well be most fondly remembered for his time with Wigan, but he actually reached the sport’s pinnacle prior to that with Widnes. He won the Lance Todd in 1984 when Widnes beat Wigan, with Lydon scoring two tries on the day during the 19-6 win.

Wing: Leroy Rivett
There were plenty of wing competitors for the Lance Todd, including the winners from recent years like Ryan Hall and Tom Briscoe – plus the legendary Jason Robinson. But Rivett’s heroics in the 1999 final, when he scored four times during Leeds’ 52-16 win against London Broncos, gives him the edge here and gets him in the team.

Stand-off: Sean Long
Alongside Gregory in the halves is the man who stands out in front on his own as the only player to have won the Lance Todd Trophy three times. Former St Helens scrum-half Sean Long has a special relationship with the Challenge Cup final, with his three Lance Todd successes coming in 2001, 2004 and 2006.


Scrum-half: Andy Gregory
There were plenty of half-back contenders for this team, but we eventually opted for two out-and-out scrum-halves, which meant one playing out of position! One of the finest halves of his or any era, Gregory was the first man to win the Lance Todd twice, as well as being the first man to win the competition on five different occasions.

Prop: Don Fox
The late, great Don Fox is one of just a handful of players who has won the Lance Todd Trophy while being on the losing side. Fox won the award after a magnificent performance in vain for Wakefield Trinity, who lost the 1968 final to West Yorkshire rivals Leeds.

Hooker: Michael Monaghan
Only two hookers have won the Lance Todd Trophy – with Monaghan the only one to have done so whilst playing for a cup final-winning side. The former Warrington No. 9 was influential during the Wolves’ 2009 victory against Huddersfield at Wembley, scoring an early try as Warrington ran out 25-16 winners.

Michael Monaghan
Michael Monaghan

Prop: Brian Lockwood
One of several great British exports to the Australian game in the 1970s and 80s, Lockwood holds the honour of winning the Lance Todd Trophy during Hull KR’s 1980 success against none other than cross-city rivals Hull FC. A former Great Britain international, Lockwood also played for the likes of Canterbury and Balmain throughout his career.

Second row: Denis Betts
Current Widnes Vikings coach and former Great Britain forward Denis Betts is one of a number of fine second-rowers to win the Lance Todd, with Betts’ own success coming in the 1991 final for Wigan, during their lengthy run of cup success, against major rivals St Helens.


Second row: David Hobbs
Hobbs started his career with West Yorkshire side Featherstone, winning the cup at Wembley in one of the biggest upsets in the history of the final, when Fev defeated Hull FC – with Hobbs winning the Lance Todd Trophy in the 1983 showpiece event.

Loose-forward: Ellery Hanley
Hanley enjoyed one of the finest careers in British Rugby League history, with the former Bradford, Wigan and Leeds maestro winning the Lance Todd Trophy in the 1989 final for Wigan against St Helens.