Walmsley heads Albert Goldthorpe Medal Table after 6 rounds

St Helens prop forward Alex Walmsley has been in outstanding form so far this season, which is reflected in his position at the top of the Albert Goldthorpe Medal table after six rounds of Super League action.

Walmsley’s total of eleven points is made up of three points in rounds 1 and 4 against the Catalans and Wakefield respectively,  two points in rounds 3 and 6 against Castleford and Warrington respectively, and one point against Widnes in round 5.

Castleford’s Luke Gale is in second place with nine points, while Hull Kingston Rovers skipper Terry Campese is in third place with eight points.

So far a total of 75 Super League players have registered at least one point in the race for this season’s Albert Goldthorpe Medal.

The winner in 2014 was Huddersfield Giants captain Danny Brough.

The leading players in the Albert Goldthorpe Medal table are published each week in League Express.

The full table after 6 rounds is set out below.

Albert Goldthorpe Medal Points Table 2015

Standings after 6 rounds

Alex Walmsley St Helens 11

Luke Gale Castleford Tigers 9

Terry Campese Hull Kingston Rovers 8

Rangi Chase Salford Red Devils 6

Adam Cuthbertson Leeds Rhinos 6

Scott Dureau Catalans Dragons 6

Stefan Ratchford Warrington Wolves 6

Atelea Vea St Helens 6

Carl Ablett Leeds Rhinos 5

John Bateman Wigan Warriors 5

Danny Brough Huddersfield Giants 5

Jamie Ellis Huddersfield Giants 5

Ian Henderson Catalans Dragons 5

Zeb Taia Catalans Dragons 5

Ben Westwood Warrington Wolves 5

Aaron Heremaia Widnes Vikings 4

Joe Mellor Widnes Vikings 4

Matthew Russell Warrington Wolves 4

Stevie Ward Leeds Rhinos 4

Kyle Amor St Helens 3

Tom Briscoe Leeds Rhinos 3

Liam Finn Castleford Tigers 3

Joe Greenwood St Helens 3

Scott Grix Huddersfield Giants 3

Albert Kelly Hull Kingston Rovers 3

Jermaine McGillvary Huddersfield Giants 3

Leon Pryce Hull FC 3

Jordan Rankin Hull FC 3

Brad Singleton Leeds Rhinos 3

Ken Sio Hull Kingston Rovers 3

Tim Smith Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 3

Marc Sneyd Hull FC 3

Ryan Sutton Wigan Warriors 3

Lloyd White Widnes Vikings 3

Jon Wilkin St Helens 3

Kevin Brown Widnes Vikings 2

Luke Dorn Castleford Tigers 2

Paddy Flynn Widnes Vikings 2

Craig Hall Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 2

Ryan Hampshire Wigan Warriors 2

Lance Hohaia St Helens 2

Shaun Lunt Hull Kingston Rovers 2

Jacob Miller Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 2

Mark Minichiello Hull FC 2

Junior Moors Castleford Tigers 2

Junior Moors Castleford Tigers 2

Mark Percival St Helens 2

Jamie Shaul Hull FC 2

Ashton Sims Warrington Wolves 2

Matty Smith Wigan Warriors 2

Scott Taylor Salford Red Devils 2

Jordan Thompson Hull FC 2

Joe Wardle Huddersfield Giants 2

Kallum Watkins Leeds Rhinos 2

Justin Carney Castleford Tigers 1

Ben Cockayne Hull Kingston Rovers 1

Gil Dudson Widnes Vikings 1

Gareth Ellis Hull FC 1

Morgan Escaré Catalans Dragons 1

Harrison Hansen Salford Red Devils 1

Chris Hill Warrington Wolves 1

Gareth Hock Salford Red Devils 1

Graeme Horne Hull Kingston Rovers 1

Ali Lautiiti Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Tommy Lee Salford Red Devils 1

Tommy Makinson St Helens 1

Danny McGuire Leeds Rhinos 1

Aaron Murphy Huddersfield Giants 1

Cory Paterson Salford Red Devils 1

Kevin Penny Warrington Wolves 1

Chris Riley Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

Luke Robinson Huddersfield Giants 1

Kevin Sinfield Leeds Rhinos 1

Danny Washbrook Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 1

George Williams Wigan Warriors 1