2014 NRL play-offs confirmed

The final round of NRL fixtures has been concluded, with Sydney Roosters finishing top of the tree for the second successive season – with Sam Tomkins’ Warriors failing to make the top eight in his first season in the NRL.

The Warriors failed to gain a berth in the play-offs after slipping to a 22-6 defeat against Penrith – meaning 2015 World Club Series competitors Brisbane held on to their spot in the eight by the narrowest of margins.

Defending champions Sydney kick off their quest for a second straight Premiership with a home tie against the Panthers, with the loser guaranteed another chance thanks to their position in the top four.

Four ties – with the same structure as the Super League play-offs (with the exception of Club Call) – will kick off the finals next week, with Manly v South Sydney arguably the pick of the ties.

There are two elimination play-offs, with Melbourne v Canterbury and North Queensland v Brisbane seeing those quartet of teams playing to keep their season alive.

The  NRL Telstra Premiership Finals Series – Week 1
Qualifying Play-Offs
(2) Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles v (3) South Sydney Rabbitohs
(1) Sydney Roosters v (4) Penrith Panthers
Elimination Play-Offs
(5) North Queensland Cowboys v (8) Brisbane Broncos
(6) Melbourne Storm v (7) Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs