Championship & League 1 awards night winners revealed

York City Knights and Whitehaven were the big winners at the Championship and League 1 awards night as they won five awards between them.

Knights coach James Ford won Championship Coach of the Year, while the club won the Championship Club of the Year award.

Meanwhile, League 1 Champions Whitehaven won three prizes, with Gary Charlton, Dion Aiye and Andrew Bulman winning the league’s coach, player and young player award prizes.

Toronto ace Gareth O’Brien was named Championship Player of the Year, while Keighley were the League 1 Club of the year. Warrington-bound Matty Ashton won the Championship’s Young Player of the Year award after a breakthrough year at Swinton.

Awards in full
FSA Community Champion of the Year: Liz Hindley
Foundation of the Year: Newcastle Thunder
League 1 Club of the Year: Keighley Cougars
Championship Club of the Year: York City Knights
League 1 Coach of the Year: Gary Charlton
Championship Coach of the Year: James Ford
League 1 Young Player of the Year: Andrew Bulman
Championship Young Player of the Year: Matty Ashton
League 1 Player of the Year: Dion Aiye
Championship Player of the Year: Gareth O’Brien