Ireland v Scotland squads for European Championship clash

Ireland and Scotland have each named their 19-man squad for the Saturday’s European Championship clash at the Morton Stadium, Santry (kick off 2pm), which doubles as a qualifier for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup in England.

Wakefield signing George King, fresh from Warrigton’s appearance in the Super League Grand Final, is included for the Wolfhounds alongside two new club mates: Ireland skipper and most-capped Irish player, Liam Finn and Scott Grix.

The match will see new coaching teams on both sides following the 2017 World Cup, with former Ireland international Stuart Littler taking the reins of the hosts. “We are looking forward to what is set to be an exciting tournament,” said Littler.

“Having our opening game on home soil (my debut as head coach) is great because we look to set the tone against quality opponents. Over the past few seasons, Scotland have shown they are a force to be reckoned with in international rugby league, but we know that if we perform we have enough quality within our side to compete with anyone.”

Littler will also be looking to the leadership of Salford’s Tyrone McCarthy, adding: “This year’s squad is a great mix of youth and experience as we look to develop towards the next World Cup. I am excited by the future of the international game in Ireland. We aim to enjoy ourselves throughout the next three weeks.”

New Scotland coaching duo, Chris Chester (who will come up against his trio of Trinity men) and John Duffy, have seven potential debutants in their squad: heritage players Luke Westman and Nick Glohe, Keighley duo Davey Dixon and Kieran Moran, Newcastle’s Sam Luckley, and domestic players Matt Hogg and Murray Mitchell, although they may be forced into a late change as Lewis Tierney is having a further head scan tomorrow.

“We are all looking forward to seeing the guys get out on the pitch in Dublin,” commented Chris Chester. We have already had two good days training this week and the squad is coming together well, looking sharp and ready to go.

“It is six years since I was involved with Scotland and I am very excited to be so again,” he added. “International rugby league needs to be supported. It’s great to see the level of commitment to the Bravehearts’ cause from players, staff and other volunteers. We expect a very tough game against Ireland, the two squads look well matched.”


IRELAND 19-MAN SQUAD  :  Michael Ward (Batley Bulldogs), Gregg McNally, Ethan Ryan (Bradford Bulls), Peter Ryan (Coventry Bears), Ed O’Keefe (Galway Tribesmen), Ronan Michael (Huddersfield Giants) Lewis Bienek (Hull FC), Gareth Gill, Richie McHugh (Longhorns RL), Tyrone McCarthy (Salford Red Devils), James Bentley (St Helens), Will Hope (Swinton Lions), Liam Finn, Scott Grix, George King (Wakefield Trinity), Alan McMahon (Waterford Vikings), Liam Byrne, Dec  O’Donnell, Jack Higginson (Wigan Warriors).

SCOTLAND 19-MAN SQUAD  :  David Scott (Batley Bulldogs), Luke Westman (Berkeley Eagles) Lewis Tierney (Catalan Dragons), Frankie Mariano (Doncaster RL), Lewis Clarke, Finn Hutchison (Edinburgh Eagles), Scott Plumridge (Glasgow RL), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax), Will Oakes (Hull KR), Billy McConnachie (Ipswich Jets), Davey Dixon, Kieran Moran (Keighley Cougars), Nick Glohe (Lakes United Seagulls), Sam Luckley (Newcastle Thunder), Matt Hogg (Newcastle University and Edinburgh Eagles), Oscar Thomas (Sheffield Eagles), Murray Mitchell (Strathmore Silverbacks), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), Kane Bentley (Toulouse).