O’Loughlin rested for World Club Challenge warm-up

Sean O’Loughlin has been rested for Wigan’s World Club Challenge warm-up against New Zealand Warriors tomorrow night.

The loose forward tweaked a hamstring while warming up for his side’s Super League curtain-raiser against Huddersfield on Friday night and was not risked by coach Shaun Wane.

He is expected to be fit in time to face NRL Premiers Sydney Roosters in eleven days, though, which has opened him up to a bit of ribbing from his team-mates.

That’s because O’Loughlin, 31, seems to time his injuries perfectly. At the end of last season, he played only twice in two months, but both games were big finals, which Wigan won [Challenge Cup, Grand Final]. Since then he has not played a competitive match in cherry and white, so has a chance to scoop three major trophies in three consecutive club games.

The England international told Julie Stott of the Daily Star: “I am getting absolutely slated for this.

“It’s not ideal planning for me personally. I would rather be getting games under my belt but that’s the way it goes sometimes.”

The full teams for tomorrow night’s warm-up can be found below. The home side are without many of their big names, including Shaun Johnson – the man who broke English hearts in the World Cup semi-final by scoring in the last seconds – and former Wigan full-back Sam Tomkins, who are taking part in the Auckland Nines tournament. However, former Leeds Academy stars Mason Tonks and Jordan Baldwinson start on the bench.

Wigan were boosted by the news that Matt Bowen escaped any punishment for his high tackle on Scott Grix in Friday’s Super League opener, while Josh Charnley also returns after recovering from a hernia operation.

New Zealand Warriors V Wigan Warriors
Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
7.30pm local (6.30am BST)

The teams

New Zealand Warriors
1 Jerome Ropati
2 Malo Solomona
3 Adam Tuimavave-Gerrard
4 Agnatius Paasi
5 Jarrod Wilson
6 Chad Townsend
7 Steve Waetford
8 Jacob Lillyman
9 Nathan Friend
10 Sam Rapira
11 Ben Matulino
12 Feleti Mateo
13 John Palavi
Sam Lisone
Albert Vete
Jordan Baldwinson
Nathan Peteru
Paulos Latu
Jarrod Tua
Josh Tamasu-Russell
Mason Tonks
David Bhana
Patrick Sipley
Siliva Havili
Tevita Latu
Jono Carl
Michael Sio
Mason Lino

Wigan Warriors
1 Matt Bowen
32 Joe Burgess
3 Darrell Goulding
23 Dan Sarginson
2 Josh Charnley
19 Sam Powell
7 Matt Smith
8 Scott Taylor
9 Michael McIlorum
16 Gil Dudson
14 Jack Hughes
12 Liam Farrell
24 Tony Clubb
31 Dom Manfredi
5 Anthony Gelling
27 George Williams
20 Greg Burke
22 Eddy Pettybourne
15 Logan Tomkins
17 Dom Crosby
25 John Bateman
10 Ben Flower
26 Ryan Hampshire