RL Commonwealth Championship 2014: Day One Scores

Day One of the Rugby League Commonwealth Championship is in full swing, and there have been some fascinating results in the opening hours of the event.

The Commonwealth Games take place in Glasgow next month but, as a precursor to that event, the Rugby League Commonwealth Championship 2014 will be contested by South Africa, Canada, Jamaica, England, Scotland, Wales, Australia and Papua New Guinea, with the teams split into two groups.

The matches will take place on Friday and Saturday as the 9s format looks to continue to spread the sport on the international stage. With the next Commonwealth Games taking place on the Gold Coast, it is hoped that this event can put 9s RL on the map.

Rugby League Commonwealth Championship 2014 – Format
Pool A: 
Australia (ranked 1), Wales (6), Scotland (11), Jamaica (23)
Australia 26-4 Jamaica
Scotland 6-18 Wales
Australia 24-10 Wales
Scotland 4-0 Jamaica
Jamaica 0-34 Wales
Australia v Scotland

Pool B: England (3), PNG (7), Canada (16), South Africa (25)
South Africa 8-18 Papua New Guinea
Canada 24-4 England
Canada 24-16 South Africa
England 10-16 Papua New Guinea
England v South Africa
Canada v Papua New Guinea

Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.