Shaun Wane adds four players to his England squad

England coach Shaun Wane has added four players to his squad in preparation for autumn’s Rugby League World Cup (RLWC2021).

Wakefield Trinity’s Joe Westerman earns a recall to the squad, having last represented his country in 2014. He’s joined by Trinity team-mate Reece Lyne, Catalans Dragons winger Tom Davies and Warrington Wolves halfback Gareth Widdop.

“I watch every Super League game, every week, and the door is always open to players who are performing,” said Wane.

“I’ve been impressed in recent weeks by what I’ve seen from these four players and the data we have on them backs that up. They are consistently hitting the performance levels required at the highest level.”

Next Wednesday (16 June) Wane will announce his squad for England’s match against the Combined Nations All Stars on Friday 25 June at Warrington’s Halliwell Jones Stadium. The match is part of an historic double-header featuring the Men’s and Women’s teams. England Women face Wales at 6pm, before Shaun Wane takes charge of the England team for the first time at 8pm.

Tickets are on sale now via the RFL website, priced £20 for adults and £10 for under U16s. An initial 4,000 tickets are available, with the hope that further areas of the stadium will become available as social distancing requirements ease.

Meanwhile, Monday’s scheduled training session at Emerald Headingley Stadium has been cancelled due to the volume of injuries at some clubs and the prevailing uncertainty caused by Covid outbreaks at others.

The England squad in full: John Bateman (Wigan Warriors), Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Daryl Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie (all Warrington Wolves), Tom Davies (Catalans Dragons), Niall Evalds (Castleford Tigers), Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors), Luke Gale (Leeds Rhinos), Oliver Gildart (Wigan Warriors), Josh Griffin (Hull FC), Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos), Zak Hardaker (Wigan Warriors), Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders), Tom Johnstone (Wakefield Trinity), Toby King (Warrington Wolves), Morgan Knowles (St Helens), Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity), Jonny Lomax (both St Helens), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants), Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers), Tommy Makinson (St Helens), Dom Manfredi (Wigan Warriors), Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos), Mark Percival (St Helens), Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford (both Warrington Wolves), James Roby (St Helens), Dan Sarginson (Salford Red Devils), Ryan Sutton (Canberra Raiders), Luke Thompson (Canterbury Bulldogs), Sam Tomkins (Catalans Dragons), Alex Walmsley (St Helens), Kallum Watkins (Salford Red Devils), Joe Westerman (Wakefield Trinity), Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders), Gareth Widdop (Warrington Wolves), George Williams (free agent).