Super League’s full list of players on the open market

HULL KR duo Ryan Shaw and Shaun Lunt, plus Catalans winger Jodie Broughton, are among the headline names who have been informed by their clubs that they will not be receiving a new contract offer for 2020.

Last week, the Rugby Football League circulated its annual list of full-time players who are out-of-contract at the end of the coming season who have yet to re-sign with a club for next year.

The list denotes whether a player’s status is ‘not yet determined’ – meaning the club has not yet decided whether to offer a new deal, or ‘out of contract’ – which means they have been told there is no contract for next season.

And Robins captain Lunt is arguably the biggest name on the list, as League Express can reveal the former Leeds and Huddersfield hooker is on the hunt for a new club with him set to leave Hull KR at the end of this season. The 32-year-old has only recently returned to playing following a bout of sepsis.

Other Hull KR players listed as out of contract include winger Shaw, Danny McGuire – who is retiring at the end of this season – and Tommy Lee. Chris Atkin and James Greenwood are ‘not yet determined’.

Catalans winger Broughton is one of two Dragons players who has been told he will not receive a new deal. The other is prop Antoni Maria, who is currently on loan at Hull KR.

St Helens duo Luke Douglas and Ryan Morgan will not receive new deals at the Super League leaders according to the list, with Wakefield’s Justin Horo also listed in that bracket.

The list in full:
Castleford – Not Yet Determined: Cory Aston, Chris Clarkson, Tuoyo Egodo, Kieran Gill, Will Maher.

Catalans – Not Yet Determined: Greg Bird, Paul Seguier; Out of Contract: Jodie Broughton, Antoni Maria.

Huddersfield – Not Yet Determined: Izaac Farrell; Out of Contract: Scott Grix.

Hull FC – Not Yet Determined: Chris Green, Dean Hadley, Jack Logan, Sika Manu, Mark Minichiello, Mickey Paea, Jack Sanderson, Danny Washbrook, Joe Westerman.

Hull KR – Not Yet Determined: Chris Atkin, James Greenwood; Out of Contact: Tommy Lee, Shaun Lunt, Danny McGuire, Ryan Shaw.

London – Not Yet Determined: Jordan Abdull, James Cunningham, Matt Davies, Matt Fleming, Matty Gee, Ben Hellewell, Mark Ioane, Elliot Kear, Eloi Pelissier, Morgan Smith.

Leeds – Not Yet Determined: James Donaldson, Brett Ferres.

Salford – Not Yet Determined: Greg Johnson, Josh Jones, Adam Lawton, Rob Lui, Ben Nakubuwai, Logan Tomkins, Kris Welham, Josh Wood.

St Helens – Not Yet Determined: Luke Cooper, Callum Hazzard, Adam Swift, Zeb Taia; Out of Contract: Luke Douglas, Ryan Morgan.

Wakefield – Not Yet Determined: Chris Annakin, Mason Caton-Brown, Keegan Hirst, Luke Hooley, Craig Huby, Danny Kirmond, Pauli Pauli, Tyler Randell, Lewis Wray; Out of Contract: Justin Horo.

Warrington – Not Yet Determined: Sitaleki Akauola, Ryan Atkins, Kevin Brown, Bryson Goodwin, Jack Johnson, Pat Moran, Lama Tasi, Ben Westwood.

Wigan – Not Yet Determined: Callum Barnes, Samy Kibula, Ben Kilner, Craig Mullen, Sean O’Loughlin, Liam Paisley, Dan Sarginson, James Worthington; Out of Contract: Callum Field, Liam Forsyth, Joe Brown.

Out-of-contract players who have either been offered a deal by their current club, or have already signed terms at another club, do not appear on the list. That includes big-name players such as: Jake Bibby, Kenny Edwards, Tony Gigot, Alex Mellor, Josh Drinkwater, Theo Fages, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Brad Dwyer, Ryan Hampshire, Joe Burgess and Tony Clubb.