Thurston wins record fourth Dally M

Jonathan Thurston has made history after becoming the first person to win four Dally M medals.

The North Queensland Cowboy half-back picked up his prize at the awards ceremony in Townsville, beating Aaron Woods, Benji Marshall, Michael Ennis and Ben Hunt to the crown. It was Thurston’s second consecutive Dally M medal, whilst also winning it in 2005 and 2007.

Johnathan Thurston
Johnathan Thurston

It was one of four gongs he claimed on the night, also winning halfback of the year, the Provan-Summons medal and shared captain of the year honours alongside Matt Scott.

In this week’s League Express, Garry Schofield described Thurston as “one of the best players of the last decade.” The half-back will look to boost his legendary status in this weekend’s NRL Grand Final between the Cowboys and Brisbane Broncos.

The full list of winners are:

Dally M Player of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Captain of the Year: Johnathan Thurston/Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach of the Year: Wayne Bennett (Brisbane Broncos)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks)

Best Representative Player: Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)

Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)

Winger of the Year: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

Centre of the Year: James Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)

Five-eighth of the Year: Blake Austin (Canberra Raiders)

Halfback of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second-rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)

Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Hooker of the Year: Michael Ennis (Cronulla Sharks)

Top Points Scorer: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)

Top Try Scorer: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Holden Cup Player of the Year: Ashley Taylor (Brisane Broncos)

Female Player of the Year: Jenni-Sue Hoepper

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Nathan Friend (Warriors)

Ken Stephen Medal: Luke Douglas (Gold Coast Titans)