Widnes reveal squad numbers for 2017

Jack Buchanan and Matt Whitley have been handed starting jerseys for the 2017 season.

The forward duo were key components in Widnes’ seventh-placed finish last season, and the two have been rewarded with upgraded jerseys for 2017.

Buchanan joined the club from Wests Tigers midway through the season and made 15 appearances for the club.

As for Whitley, he was almost an ever-present for Denis Betts’ side, with his performances earning him a place on the shortlist for the Super League young player of the year award.

Manase Manuokafoa, who wore number 10 last season, has now been assigned number 20, while new signing Tom Armstrong has been handed number 26.

Meanwhile, Danny Craven, who has been widely tipped with a move away from the club, has been given the number 32 jersey.

WIDNES 2017 squad numbers: 1 Rhys Hanbury, 2 Corey Thompson, 3 Chris Bridge, 4 Charly Runciman, 5 Patrick Ah Van, 6 Kevin Brown, 7 Joe Mellor, 8 Eamon O’Carroll, 9 Lloyd White, 10 Jack Buchanan, 11 Chris Houston, 12 Matt Whitley, 13 Hep Cahill, 14 Chris Dean, 15 Gil Dudson, 16 Alex Gerrard, 17 Stefan Marsh, 18 Greg Burke, 19 MacGraff Leuluai, 20 Manase Manuokafoa, 21 Tom Gilmore, 22 Ted Chapelhow, 23 Jay Chapelhow, 24 Sam Brooks, 26 Tom Armstrong, 27 Ed Chamberlain, 28 Ryan Ince, 29 Brad Walker, 30 Olly Ashall, 31 Jordan Johnstone, 32 Danny Craven, 33 Aaron Heremaia.

The new edition of League Express features an interview with Buchanan. Get your copy now in stores or online at totalrl.com/le