Wigan launch squad numbers ahead of Super League defence

Wigan Warriors have handed four players starting jerseys for 2017, including new signings Joe Burgess and Thomas Leuluai.

Burgess has been handed the number 5 jersey, replacing old teammate Josh Charnley, while Leuluai takes the number 7 shirt vacated by Matty Smith.

Meanwhile, Oliver Gildart has been promoted to number 4 following the departure of Dan Sarginson, while Frank-Paul Nuuausala takes Dom Crosby’s old number 8.

Meanwhile, the other new signings, French internationals Morgan Escare and Romain Navarrete, will wear 22 and 26 respectively.

Other players, including Willie Isa, Taulima Tautai and Lewis Tierney, have also being handed squad numbers higher up the list.

Get a copy of League Express today for an interview with Wigan and England stay John Bateman.