Blues bring in Dugan and Hopoate for Origin II

New South Wales have called-up Josh Dugan and Will Hopoate to replace the injured Morris twins for the second State of Origin match on June 18.

Winger Brett fractured and dislocated his shoulder in the act of scoring a crucial try, while centre Josh ruptured his posterior cruciate ligament. Brett finished the match despite the pain and Josh carried on, too, chasing down Greg Inglis before leaving the field.

In better news for Blues fans, Kangaroos international Greg Bird returns from injury and is set to start at loose forward, with Paul Gallen moving into the front-row. Tony Williams drops off the bench to accommodate Bird.


NSW team for State of Origin II
1 Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
2 Will Hopoate (Parramatta Eels)
3 Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
4 Michael Jennings (Sydney Roosters)
5 Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)
6 Josh Reynolds (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
7 Trent Hodkinson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
8 Paul Gallen (c) (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
9 Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)
10 Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
11 Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne Storm)
12 Beau Scott (Newcastle Knights)
13 Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)
14 James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys)
15 Anthony Watmough (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
16 Trent Merrin (St George Illawarra Dragons)
17 Luke Lewis (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Queensland are yet to finalise their starting 17, but have named a 22-man squad

Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.