Match report: Wigan Warriors 46-24 Wakefield Wildcats

In a nutshell
Wigan Warriors banished their World Club Challenge demons with a convincing display against Wakefield Wildcats

How it unfolded
First half
Wigan score within four minutes after early pressure allows Dom Manfredi to go over in the right corner, Smith misses conversion; Wigan look fresh and sharp as they bombard the Wakefield line; Trinity haven’t been in the game but draw level on 13 minutes with a superb Ali Lauititi try that comes from a short Jarrod Sammut pass, the former Bull converts to give Wakefield the lead; three minutes later, Blake Green finds Iain Thornley with a superb pass to put the home side in front again; on the 19th minute Matt Smith makes a break and puts in captain Sean O’Loughlin, Smith converts his second kick to make the scores 16-6; Wigan in imperious form now and O’Loughlin goes over again thanks to lovely footwork; Clubb makes a 50m break and a high kick is fumbled by the Wakefield defence – Hampshire pounces to score, now 26-6; Bateman crosses for Wigan’s sixth, Wildcats starved of possession; Sammut intercepts and races 80m but is taken down just in time; Wildcats finally score though, with captain Danny Kirmond taking a Pita Godinet pass and touching down; scores 30-12 at the break.

Second half
Warriors give away penalty and a minute later Peter Fox scores, Sammut converts to make it 30-18; Flower hits back five minutes later to restore 18 point lead; a Wakefield knock-on gives Wigan possession and Burgess breaks on 57 minutes, crossing to increase home lead; Richard Mathers sin-binned tackling Hampshire on a break and Liam Farrell scores a minute later; Smith conversion makes it 46-18; Sammut steals ball from Manfredi, makes massive break then sends Reece Lyne over on 73rd minute, Sammut converts to make final score 46-24.

The teams
Ryan Hampshire, Joe Burgess, Anthony Gelling, Iain Thornley, Dom Manfredi, Blake Green, Matty Smith, Ben Flower, Mike McIlorum, Scott Taylor, Liam Farrell, John Bateman, Sean O’Loughlin. Subs: Logan Tomkins, Dom Crosby, Greg Burke, Tony Clubb.

Richard Mathers, Peter Fox, Paul Sykes, Luke Briscoe, Reece Lyne, Jarrod Sammut, Pita Godinet, Lucas Walshaw, Paul McShane, Daniel Smith, Ali Lauititi, Danny Kirmond, Kyle Trout. Subs: Danny Washbrook, Taulima Tautai, Matt Ryan, Jordan Crowther.

A full report complete with live photography can be found in tomorrow’s League Express newspaper.Available at midnight online or in all good newsagents in the morning.

Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.