Dave Parker

ArthurO

I'm so sad to read of the passing of Dave Parker. He followed-on from our other great loose forward, Rocky Turner. Dave was an elegant, thoughtful and skillful player. I believe he would have played for Great Britain more often in the 1960s had he not been playing at the same time as the other great loose forwards of that era, Don Fox, Dave Robinson and Laurie Gilfedder. I also believe that he would have led us out to victory at Wembley in 1964 had he not been 'targeted' and badly injured by his opposite number, Harry Poole in the second replay against HKR.  Dave Parker. RIP.

I am really  and genuinely sad to hear of Dave's passing. Apart from his undisputed ability as a player he was a true gentleman. He was a good friend of mine during his day at Platts where I worked as an apprentice. We talked a lot of rugby together and I remember seeing him on the Monday morning following the HKR semi final. The injury he got was horrendous and his face looked like a lump of liver. Poole should have been banned for a long time for that offence.