You always give whatever is the greatest advantage to the non offending team. In this case the penalty was given for the second offence. The reason play was not stopped at the time was because advantage has to be allowed to see if an advantage is gained by the non offending team. You can also hear Thierry asking the VR for clarification, which according to the protocols we all work by and agreed by the SL coaches he is entirely at that point entitled to do.
As for SteveiM13's comment about the sin bin for Crusaders robbing them of a player, the rules are plain and simple that any delay of the 20m restart is an automatic sin bin.
Bentham did not send Manu off as it was not a sending off offence as has been shown by the video review panel. He did not sin bin Peter Fox because contrary to popular belief slowing down the ptb is not an automatic sin bin and there is no such thing as a "professional foul", it's another myth put about by tv commentators. The penalty was the correct decision. There are only 2 occasions when an automatic sin bin is allowed and that is a deliberate delay to a 20m restart as in the case of the Crusaders and a late challenge on the kicker.
Sorry, but can't remember the particular Tomkins incident you are talking about so can't possibly comment.
Alibert did not give the second offence because there was not one to penalise. Alibert signalled the scrum straight away and he had a better view of it than the touch judge who was miles behind.
In my opinion neither Alibert or the touchjudge saw the offence by McGuire, just like hardly anyone else. Hence, no advantage was being played by the referee. If Alibert had seen it why did he call a scrum instead of going back to the Wigan 30 or award it himself under the greater advantage rule you say exists?
Alibert did not see the McGuire foul or think that Donald made a late tackle, but Wigan were awarded a penalty on the Rhinos 40 instead of the Wigan 30 where the only offence took place. You say Alibert asks Bentham for clarification, but of what exactly. i didn't hear Alibert ask Bentham to check if Donald made a late tackle, so who decided it was a penalty? If Alibert has ruled there was nothing wrong, surely that can't be over-ruled because isn't the decision of the referee final. Alibert had already given the scrum because in his opinion there was no late tackle.
What you have described is the video referee telling Alibert to award a penalty for something Alibert did not ask him to look at and did not think was a penalty anyway.. What are the protocols you mention and where can we find the rules for what video referees can and can't do in the course of a game?
As for the review panel, are these the same people that said Buderus performed a spear tackle when he did nothing of the sort?? Willie Manu flattened Cockayne with a high shot that was worse than anything Buderus did. The same that have seen no wrong with tackles like that by Coley at Headingley.
Is delaying a 20m restart an automatic sin bin? How does what Fox did, which was to deliberately take away an in play advantage, not merit a sin bin? There seems to have been a drop off in sin binning charges on kickers, see Loughlin on Robinosn at Murrayfield, and the ref no longer calls kicker clear, which was all the rage earlier in the season.