Jump to content

Penalty try


Recommended Posts


1 minute ago, DEANO said:

What are the rules regarding penalty try’s. saints would definitely scored had the winger not been fouled

Think you’re getting mixed up. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, DEANO said:

What are the rules regarding penalty try’s. saints would definitely scored had the winger not been fouled

Catalans mate, but yes it was a stonewall penalty try. There was a strong argument for Naiqama's second try to be an 8 point try too.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, Dunbar said:

Penalty try (d) the Referee may award a penalty try if, in his opinion, a try would have been scored but for the unfair play of the defending team. A penalty try is awarded between the goal posts irrespective of where the offence occurred.

https://www.rugby-league.com/governance/rules-and-regulations/laws-of-the-game

Which is the key point Makinsons first contact was perfectly legal could the ref be sure he wasn’t already going out before the unfair play occurred. 

  • Like 5
Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, Gav Wilson said:

Catalans mate, but yes it was a stonewall penalty try. There was a strong argument for Naiqama's second try to be an 8 point try too.

Thanks for pointing out my mistake 

sometimes you have to take a step backwards to move forward

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, bobbruce said:

Which is the key point Makinsons first contact was perfectly legal could the ref be sure he wasn’t already going out before the unfair play occurred. 

It's an interesting argument.  That is essentially breaking down the tackle into two parts, the 'fair' part which essentially stopped the try and the 'unfair' part which was penalised. 

Personally I don't think you can do that as it places even more of a burden on interpretation.  My feeling is, if the tackle resulted in a penalty then it is foul play.

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

My understanding is that you assess what would have happened but for the foul play. Where I am not as sure is, do you assess what would have happened had Makinson made a fair tackle?

If the answer to that is yes, given Yaha's proximity to touch, I do not think it could be said with certainty that he would have scored. If the answer is that you discount Makinson's presence entirely, then it should be a penalty try.

Edited by Chris22
  • Like 2

Twitter: @TrylineUK
Latest Blog: Rugby League's Cornish Adventure

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Dunbar said:

It's an interesting argument.  That is essentially breaking down the tackle into two parts, the 'fair' part which essentially stopped the try and the 'unfair' part which was penalised. 

Personally I don't think you can do that as it places even more of a burden on interpretation.  My feeling is, if the tackle resulted in a penalty then it is foul play.

Ian Smith shares the decision, maybe it's the fans who are wrong.

 

 

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 minutes ago, Dunbar said:

Shares what decision?

That there was sufficient doubt about whether he would have scored for a penalty try to not be awarded.

1 minute ago, Johnoco said:

I’m not sure a ref is going to publicly declare a fellow official got something wrong.

He often does, that's why people ask him. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, Saint 1 said:

That there was sufficient doubt about whether he would have scored for a penalty try to not be awarded.

I wasn't commenting on whether a penalty should have been awarded. I was commenting on the fact that if a tackle results in a penalty then it is a foul, irrespective of whether the initial contact was 'legal'.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Dunbar said:

Penalty try (d) the Referee may award a penalty try if, in his opinion, a try would have been scored but for the unfair play of the defending team. A penalty try is awarded between the goal posts irrespective of where the offence occurred.

https://www.rugby-league.com/governance/rules-and-regulations/laws-of-the-game

I think the laws are clear and Yaha would have scored if Makinson hadn’t illegally tackled. There was no cover defence. I was surprised it wasn’t given 

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

It’s an interesting question about whether you can separate the tackler from the tackle when considering “what would have happened”.

I actually lean on the side of saying you can’t assume the tackler would have made a legitimate, try-saving tackle.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Yaha does that to Makinson, it's a penalty try and a yellow card.

If Lineham or Faraimo does it to Makinson, it's a penalty try, red card and three games sat down.

Exactly the same for the Matautia punch on Maloney.

I will probably get a load of 'lol' emojis for this but we do apply the laws completely depending on whether a certain face fits or not, which is why Ian Smith is probably right when he says he would have gone with the decision we saw last night.

 

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

I can confirm 30+ less sales for Scotland vs Italy at Workington, after this afternoons test purchase for the Tonga match, £7.50 is extremely reasonable, however a £2.50 'delivery' fee for a walk in purchase is beyond taking the mickey, good luck with that, it's cheaper on the telly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well, I have just been back to my Sky Plus to take a look at the incident again as I had had a few last night.  Here is how I see it.

1. In the laws, you cannot separate the part of the Makinson tackle that was fair and the part that was high. So if he was penalised (and binned) it was foul play.

2. So you move on to whether a try would have been scored had that foul tackle not happened.

There was no cover defenders who were going to get there in time so the question is would Yaha have got to the line.

The key mitigating factor is that Yaha was on his way down when Makinson hit him but he didn't look like he was heading over the sideline to me and so he would have been well within his rights to scramble to the line.

All things considered, I think it was a penalty try.

  • Like 8
Link to comment
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, Dunbar said:

Well, I have just been back to my Sky Plus to take a look at the incident again as I had had a few last night.  Here is how I see it.

1. In the laws, you cannot separate the part of the Makinson tackle that was fair and the part that was high. So if he was penalised (and binned) it was foul play.

2. So you move on to whether a try would have been scored had that foul tackle not happened.

There was no cover defenders who were going to get there in time so the question is would Yaha have got to the line.

The key mitigating factor is that Yaha was on his way down when Makinson hit him but he didn't look like he was heading over the sideline to me and so he would have been well within his rights to scramble to the line.

All things considered, I think it was a penalty try.

Yes, that's how I see it too. As I said on the game thread, in live play I thought Yaha was heading towards the sideline but the replay showed he had regathered his balance and straightened up.

  • Like 1

I can confirm 30+ less sales for Scotland vs Italy at Workington, after this afternoons test purchase for the Tonga match, £7.50 is extremely reasonable, however a £2.50 'delivery' fee for a walk in purchase is beyond taking the mickey, good luck with that, it's cheaper on the telly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wouldn’t have mattered if Yaha wasn’t such a big useless lump. A decent winger would have been horizontal by the time Makinson got there and scored anyway.

  • Confused 1

I’m not prejudiced, I hate everybody equally

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Dunbar said:

Well, I have just been back to my Sky Plus to take a look at the incident again as I had had a few last night.  Here is how I see it.

1. In the laws, you cannot separate the part of the Makinson tackle that was fair and the part that was high. So if he was penalised (and binned) it was foul play.

2. So you move on to whether a try would have been scored had that foul tackle not happened.

There was no cover defenders who were going to get there in time so the question is would Yaha have got to the line.

The key mitigating factor is that Yaha was on his way down when Makinson hit him but he didn't look like he was heading over the sideline to me and so he would have been well within his rights to scramble to the line.

All things considered, I think it was a penalty try.

And that's the point isn't it - it is a matter of interpretation, which is what referees are for. Whether we always agree with their judgements is actually irrelevant.

  • Like 1

Sport, amongst other things, is a dream-world offering escape from harsh reality and the disturbing prospect of change.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.



×
×
  • Create New...