Jump to content

Who will win?  

26 members have voted

  1. 1. Who will win?

    • London Broncos
      3
    • Catalans Dragons
      23

This poll is closed to new votes

  • Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 04/08/24 at 14:30

Recommended Posts

Posted
3 minutes ago, barnyia said:

Surely the second London try shouldn't have counted, the ball carrying arm hadn't touched the floor but he then passed the ball with two hands? What's the ruling? Surely if he puts the ball in two hands the ball carrying arm is now both arms? 

I guess the ruling would be that because the ball carrying arm didn't touch the ground the arm that did touch the ground doesn't matter, it doesn't become unusable unless he touches the ball with both arms while that arm was still touching the floor which it wasn't.

  • Like 1

Posted
Just now, Trojan Horse said:

Poster was just being factual tbf.

 

Nothing wrong with hoping a club who are struggling for crowds and getting their first win see an improvement in that area.

Second win.

Wells%20Motors%20(Signature)_zps67e534e4.jpg
Posted
1 minute ago, Trojan Horse said:

Poster was just being factual tbf.

 

Nothing wrong with hoping a club who are struggling for crowds and getting their first win see an improvement in that area.

Excuse you? Put some respect on our name.

  • Haha 4
Posted
1 minute ago, Wellsy4HullFC said:

If he uses the other hand to pass the ball, then his ball carrying arm is actually on the ground.

I did think about this when I first saw the replay - His left arm goes down, ball in right hand - but then his left arm comes back off the ground to assist the pass, so technically it is fine. (I assume the last part, not going to lie.. It feels like it should be the right rule)

Posted
3 minutes ago, Click said:

I never understand this point of view.. How far back are you going for him to have "made" this team so dreary to watch? 

He's been coach of Catalans for almost 10 years, they've played boring and exciting rugby under him.

When have Catalans been entertaining under McNamara? Whilst I acknowledge his achievements and that he has improved the culture of the club, their style of play is a chore to watch. And completely at odds with the kind of rugby French fans like to watch.

  • Like 2
Posted
1 minute ago, Click said:

I guess the ruling would be that because the ball carrying arm didn't touch the ground the arm that did touch the ground doesn't matter, it doesn't become unusable unless he touches the ball with both arms while that arm was still touching the floor which it wasn't.

If the second arm came back off the floor before he touched it to pass, then it isn't a grounded ball-carrying arm I guess. 

Again, I'd need to see a replay again from that angle. They didn't show one at the end of the game.

  • Like 1
Wells%20Motors%20(Signature)_zps67e534e4.jpg
Posted
2 minutes ago, Click said:

I did think about this when I first saw the replay - His left arm goes down, ball in right hand - but then his left arm comes back off the ground to assist the pass, so technically it is fine. (I assume the last part, not going to lie.. It feels like it should be the right rule)

Yeah I'd agree with that. 

If it was still on the ground, it's grounded. Comes back off before touching, all good.

  • Like 2
Wells%20Motors%20(Signature)_zps67e534e4.jpg
Posted
36 minutes ago, Old Frightful said:

Sensational and well deserved try to London.

If given.

I don't know whether the fact that he used the grounded left arm along with the non-grounded right arm was a breach of the grounded arm rule?

Great try though. 

Posted
Just now, Click said:

I did think about this when I first saw the replay - His left arm goes down, ball in right hand - but then his left arm comes back off the ground to assist the pass, so technically it is fine. (I assume the last part, not going to lie.. It feels like it should be the right rule)

I wondered also but VR Ben Thaler watched it through and didn't mention it so I presumed it is perfectly okay to use the arm that touched the floor to pass the ball once it's clear of the floor.

2nd on field ref Samkins didn't raise an issue either...well, not that we heard.

  • Haha 2
                                         "You've only won one trophy SINCE 1985"
                                             
Posted
2 minutes ago, JonNgog said:

When have Catalans been entertaining under McNamara? Whilst I acknowledge his achievements and that he has improved the culture of the club, their style of play is a chore to watch. And completely at odds with the kind of rugby French fans like to watch.

I've enjoyed watching Catalans play rugby over the last 5 or so years. I don't recall them being terribly boring to watch when they got to the CC final and won, or got to SL GF's.

  • Like 6
Posted
7 minutes ago, barnyia said:

Surely the second London try shouldn't have counted, the ball carrying arm hadn't touched the floor but he then passed the ball with two hands? What's the ruling? Surely if he puts the ball in two hands the ball carrying arm is now both arms? 

All about the ball carrying arm. 

Could scratch his backside and free it up to pass and it wouldn't matter as long as it wasn't the ball carrying arm unless rules have changed since I played 30 years ago! 

Posted
Just now, Old Frightful said:

I wondered also but VR Ben Thaler watched it through and didn't mention it so I presumed it is perfectly okay to use the arm that touched the floor to pass the ball once it's clear of the floor.

2nd on field ref Samkins didn't raise an issue either...well, not that we heard.

I think this is the key opinion to be honest. I didn't hear Sam mention it, so it must have been fine.

  • Like 4
Posted
11 minutes ago, barnyia said:

Surely the second London try shouldn't have counted, the ball carrying arm hadn't touched the floor but he then passed the ball with two hands? What's the ruling? Surely if he puts the ball in two hands the ball carrying arm is now both arms? 

Sometimes you just have to roll with the punches. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, barnyia said:

Surely the second London try shouldn't have counted, the ball carrying arm hadn't touched the floor but he then passed the ball with two hands? What's the ruling? Surely if he puts the ball in two hands the ball carrying arm is now both arms? 

That thought crossed my mind as well. He used the grounded left arm to effect the offload. I wonder what the proper interpretation on such an incident is.

  • Like 1
Posted
3 minutes ago, Snowys Backside said:

All about the ball carrying arm. 

Could scratch his backside and free it up to pass and it wouldn't matter as long as it wasn't the ball carrying arm unless rules have changed since I played 30 years ago! 

As long as it's his and not Snowy's. presumably?

  • Haha 1
                                         "You've only won one trophy SINCE 1985"
                                             
Posted
5 minutes ago, MrIzzard said:

Sometimes you just have to roll with the punches. 

I'm just wanting to know the rule as it looked very rugby unionesque, 

  • Like 2
Posted
5 minutes ago, Chronicler of Chiswick said:

Catalans should be forced to walk (and swim part of the way)home after that. Why they brought back Sam Tompkins when he isn't the player he was when he 'retired' is puzzling me a bit.

The man retires and then comes back and people still can't get his name right.

I thought Sam was one of Catalans better players today to be fair, he's in his second game after coming back, he'll get better as his match fitness improves.

  • Like 4
  • Haha 1
Posted
1 hour ago, barnyia said:

I'm just wanting to know the rule as it looked very rugby unionesque, 

Look at it this way. Suppose he had got to his feet and carried on running and then switched the ball from the non grounded arm to the one which had been grounded. Would that then be tackle complete?

Posted (edited)

Doesn't matter its a try. To be honest Catalans should never lose to a team bottom of the league, end off. 

Edited by newbe
Posted
2 hours ago, Old Frightful said:

Great win for London.

Hopefully there will be a few more to watch them next time they're at home.

Apologies. I read that totally wrong.

Posted
Just now, Gomersall said:

Apologies. I read that totally wrong.

No bother pal, it happens to all of us at one time or another.

  • Like 1
                                         "You've only won one trophy SINCE 1985"
                                             

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.